Tenure-line Faculty

  • B
  • K
  • L
  • S
  • W


  • Jim Blevins

    Jim Blevins

    Chair of the Faculty Assembly Executive of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS)

    Director of the Psycholinguistics Lab


    morphology, syntax, quantitative linguistics, history of ideas


  • Matt Kelley

    Matt Kelley

    Director of the Phonetics and Phonology Lab

    Assistant Professor

    phonetics, spoken word recognition, computational methods, speech perception, speech acoustics, automatic speech recognition, speech technology


  • Cynthia Lukyanenko

    Cynthia Lukyanenko

    Director of the Processing and Acquisition Lab (PALM)

    Assistant Professor

    child language acquisition, morphology, morphosyntax, language variation, real-time language comprehension


  • Sylvia L.R. Schreiner

    Sylvia L.R. Schreiner


    Director of the Language Documentation Lab

    Associate Professor

    Syntax, morphology, semantics, language documentation and revitalization; Scottish Gaelic, St. Lawrence Island / Siberian Yupik; aspect, tense, mood, modality; Distributed Morphology; roots and categories; nominals and nominal functional structure.


  • Géraldine Walther

    Géraldine Walther

    Head for the Concentration in Computational Linguistics (CMPL) in the MS in Data Analytics Engineering (DAEN)

    Director of the Computational Linguistics Lab

    Assistant Professor

    Computational Linguistics, Linguistic Typology, Language and cognition, Morphology, Syntax, Language documentation

  • Douglas J Wulf

    Douglas J Wulf

    Associate Professor

    Application of linguistics to TESL, formal semantics and the semantics-pragmatics interface, historical linguistics, computational linguistics